Skip to content

Killing Us Softly – Advertising’s Image of Women

March 12, 2012

For weeks, no, make that months, I’ve been wanting to write a something about the view of women and women’s bodies presented in media an advertising. About how it affects all of us, how it makes women feel like they’re never good enough and how it makes men not feel good enough about the women they have (and about themselves too). Then, a few weeks back I came across this video made by Jean Kilbourne about all of this, and so much more. I had seen this video many years ago and now that I came across it again, I was just as shocked by everything she talked about as I was the first time I saw it. I realize that there is not much for me left to say, because she’s already said everything. Therefore, I only urge you to take the time to watch these couple of video clips: Killing us softly.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 02:50

    This seriously made me want to cry. What a horrible world we live in.

Trackbacks

  1. Wildspirational Link Love | Unbinding the Wild Woman within

Leave a Reply

