Skip to content

A Decadent Mistake – Very Chocolatey Face Mask

October 20, 2011

What does the slinky, post-it notes, penicillin and the potato chip have in common? They are all inventions that were made by mistake! And now there’s another great invention to be added to this bunch – my chocolate yogurt face mask.

I had a little bit of yogurt left in the fridge. Not enough for a breakfast dish, but just perfect for a single face mask. So in with a bit of clay, honey, and to top that off, cacao powder. Pouring straight from the jar, carefully, carefully…. And whomp! There goes half the jar of cocoa powder! I thought my face mask was ruined, but still stirred the mixture a little.

I then realized that the cacao was blended into the yogurt just fine, and not only that – it got a completely different texture than I had expected, something closer to a really dark chocolate mousse. And it felt really nice on my skin!

Try this one out! The clay and honey can probably be skipped in this recipe – the key is loads of cacao!

1 tbs thick yogurt
2 tbs cacao powder
1 tsp clay (optional)
1 tsp honey (optional)

Mix everything well until you have a thick paste. Apply to face and neck and leave on for 15 minutes or until the mask is starting to dry. Rinse off with warm water.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 00:00

    How did you end up liking the mask? I’ve been wanting to play around with cocoa before but was a little unsure. I love Lush’s Cupcake mask so I assume chocolate can’t be that hard to use… I think I’m still stuck on it being a desert haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

