Skip to content

Roman Bath Soak + Rhassoul Yogurt Face Mask

February 10, 2011

Sunday bath! Click me!

For the past weeks when taking a bath, I’ve put heaps of olive oil in the water (about 1 dl), which feels really nice and makes my skin really soft afterward, without being too oily (which is sometimes the problem when oiling after a shower or bath).

But at Spa Index, which has a really good section of easy home spa recipes, I found a recipe that I was very excited to try out. It’s called a Roman bath soak. I know nothing that includes shampoo (like this recipe) should be called Roman anything, but I totally fell for this decadent sounding name. And when pouring this into your bath water you really will feel pampered. No slaves feeding you grapes could have done this better!

This soak will soften your skin and also foam a bit. Plus the fragrance oils will give you an aromatherapeutic experience and will definitely add to the relaxation.

The Roman bath soak is really easy to make; you just need some vegetable oil, shampoo and essential oils. For the vegetable oil, I used olive, but you can also try jojoba, almond or even sesame seed oil. Just remember that the smellier the oil you choose is, the less you will smell of your essential oils. Speaking of which, you can use one essential oil or a mixture of different ones, and here I’d say go mostly for the smell. The amount of essential oil in one bath will be so small that you don’t really get much of it’s properties. I made a mixture of grape fruit (2 parts), rosewood (2 parts), lavender (1 part) and ylang ylang (1 part). I also added some glycerin for extra moisture. Here you go:

  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup mild shampoo
  • 1/2 tsp essential oil or fragrance oil
  • 1 tsp glycerin

Combine all ingredients in a bottle and shake. Spa index recommends using 2 table spoons each time – I would go with a bit more (especially since we have such a big tub). Add the mixture while the water is running, that way it will help distribute the oil better and also get the bubbles going.

I also had some rhassoul clay in the fridge that I had mixed with some yoguth the day before as a shampoo, which really needed using. So I made a face mask out of it. This one worked wonders on my face, which really cleared up and felt so fresh afterward. I didn’t measure my stuff so here’s some ish-instructions.

  • rhassoul clay
  • yogurt
  • apple cider vinegar
  • sesame seed oil
  • tea tree oil

First, add some rhassoul clay to a bowl, and pour over some yogurt. If the yogurt is very thick, add a little bit of water. Then add a bit of the ACV, until the mixture is the consistency of thick chocolate mousse. Then add a little bit of sesame oil and the tea tree oil and stir until it is all blended and of a nice consistency. Too thick? Add some water (or rose water etc.). Too runny? More clay.
Apply to face and neck and let sit about 10-15 minutes or until it’s starting to dry.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Annika permalink
    February 12, 2011 11:21

    I love the bottle you have your Roman bath soak in! Too bad I’m always too lazy to do this kind of things…

    • February 23, 2011 15:46

      Thanks 🙂 Yeah, it’s very pretty (actually I think it’s Ikea or something like that) but not very practical for this thing as it wasn’t completely sealed so the shaking didn’t go very well.
      And once you get started it’s really not that much work to do things like this. I made this one while the water in the tub was running, didn’t take many minutes.

Trackbacks

  1. Med-Updates.com

Leave a Reply

