Skip to content

Homemade Lemon Hairspray

February 4, 2011

This is such an easy recipe but works really well! It keeps your hair where you want it as good as any store-bought hairspray. And all you need is a lemon and water!

To make the hairspray, you need one lemon or some lemon juice, and about 300 ml of water.

Cut the lemon up in chunks and add to a pot with the water. Bring to a boil, then simmer for a couple of minutes.

After 5-10 minutes, turn the heat down and let it cool while listening to Fool’s garden’s Lemon tree on repeat. If you can’t stand the song, just put your hairspray out on the balcony for a while.

When the water has cooled, strain into a spray bottle. If you want to add some essential oils for smell or for their nice properties for the hair. This time put 10 drops of grapefruit and 5 drops of rosemary essential oil. Grapefruit oil makes your hair shiny and I love the smell especially in combination with lemon. Rosemary is a great all round e.o. for your hair.

Shake before each use, especially if you have essential oils in it. The spray will last for at least 2 weeks if using tap water, probably more.

Tips for prolonging the shelf life:

  • Keep the bottle in the fridge. It’s also possible to make a bigger batch and freeze some of it.
  • Distilled water will prolong the shelf life by at least a week. Look for battery water at gas stations, that’s basically the same.
  • Add 1 tbs of rubbing alcohol or vodka when adding the essential oils.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. Annika permalink
    February 4, 2011 20:59

    Yey Hilda!
    I will cut my hair tomorrow (yikes!!) and thought I should made start to make more effort with it… So a spray sounds great! The lemon doesn’t dry out your hair too much? Does the cooking “soften” the acid somehow?
    Anyhow, I’ll definitely try this one out. And I love the smell of rosemary, where did you get it from? I already have a rosmary conditioner, mmmm…
    Take care!

    • February 5, 2011 19:28

      using lemon spray doesn’t dry the hair as it would be applied in moderation….it boosts the shine instead….rosemary is easily available as spices in the supermarkets……chec out the spice or garnishing counters next time….this spray can also be used as a refreshing face spray…

    • February 6, 2011 17:41

      Yes, Swati’s right, as the lemon is diluted and you don’t use much of it, it’s not going to be drying for your hair. The boiling doesn’t affect the acidity as I’m aware (though now that you mention it I think that boiled lemon juice tastes less acid-y than raw lemon juice, so maybe there’s something to that?). You boil the water because that extends the shelf life of the batch and also gets the juice out of the lemons.
      Yes, you can add fresh rosemary to the water while you boil it, that’s a good idea! I buy my essential oils online. You can check organic shops like ruohonjuuri. I’ve also seen essential oils in the beauty section at Sokos. Right, or where ever you can find that in Dijon 🙂

  2. Roh permalink
    February 6, 2011 12:13

    I’ve heard that if you put lemon juice in your hair during the summer your hair gets even more sunbleached than usual. Is that true, and does this spray also work like that or is the juice too diluted?

    • February 6, 2011 17:37

      Yes, lemon works as a bleacher, but this spray will not lighten your hair since it’s so diluted and you don’t use very much of it each time.
      I don’t recommend lemon as a hair lightener as undiluted lemon can be really bad for your hair. See this article for some tips on how to lighten your hair with other ingredients: http://hildablue.com/2010/10/31/how-to-dye-your-hair-with-herbs/

  3. Annika permalink
    February 6, 2011 22:39

    Thanks for the answers!

    I think I’ll try out the fresh rosemary first, as those essential oils tend to end up standing in my cupboard. But I wouldn’t had thought of that at all myself:) On the other hand rosemary essential oil could be used in all kind of stuff…

    I think I’ll wait for the spray until I get home, I don’t have any spray bottles here and don’t want to have too much luggage anyway. But the hair is cut and I really like it! It’s not so long anymore but still more long than short…

  4. February 18, 2011 08:15

    i love it

  5. April 1, 2011 21:14

    I really like your site, keep up the good work.It looks like you worked hard to create this site.

  6. Momof4 permalink
    February 9, 2012 20:12

    I know this is an old post, but I just stumbled on it, and am hoping it will be a lifesaver! My crazy hair cannot live without hairspray, but my husband can’t stand the smell (I’ve tried every brand!) … and I always worry about what I’m spraying on my head, too! Thanks for the suggestion … I can’t wait to try it! Just wishing I had a lemon in my fridge right now …

Trackbacks

  1. Natural Refreshing Air Spray | Momma Donna

Leave a Reply

