Skip to content

Mayo Cucumber Face Mask + Indian Henna Review

February 2, 2011

Sunday bath! Click me!

When cooking last Sunday, I made tzatziki to go with our quorn patties. When making tzatziki, I like to squeeze out the liquid from the cucumbers, which makes the tzatziki creamy and nice. But as I knew that I was going to make a face mask later that evening, I decided to save the cucumber juice instead of squeeze it right into the sink.

We all know the classical picture of women wearing face masks and having cucumber slices over their eyes. Well, it’s really not that bad of an idea. Cucumbers, and cucumber juice, can prevent wrinkles and soothe dry skin (Shenet.se). It’s also very mild and works for every skin type. You can use cucumber juice instead of water in any recipe that calls for water (or rose water, orange blossom water, infusions etc.).

With my cucumber juice, I decided to make a mayo face mask. Mayonnaise, as you know, contains egg yolks and oil, and is a great ingredient to exfoliate and moisten dry skin.

Here’s what you need to make the face mask:

Mayo-cucumber face mask

  • 1 T mayonnaise
  • Cucumber juice
  • 1/2 T Cornflour
  • Dried herbs (I used thyme and calendula)
  • (Essential oils)

Mix mayo with a little bit of cucumber juice and the cornflour  until you have reached a desired consistency. It should be quite creamy. If too runny, add more mayo or cornflour. Crush the herbs with your hands or in a mortar or coffee grinder and add to the mixture, possibly with some essential oils (if for nothing else, the batch might still smell quite a bit of mayo). Spread over face and leave on for 15-25 minutes, then rinse off with lukewarm water.

For my hair, I used a product that I bought in India – a henna mixture including 9 different herbs with different properties for the hair, Godrej nupur mehendi. The mixture was supposed to be in for about 3 hours, but I only had it on for maybe one hour, but I still noticed a change in hair color. I only rinsed it out, no shampoo or nothing, but maybe I didn’t get it all out properly because when my hair dried it looked kind of oily and was a bit difficult to style. So not a very good first impression, but I’m definitely going to give it a second chance (especially since I have like 5 packs of it…)
Although I have to give plus points to the fact that the mixture was very smooth – normally, henna powder is kind of coarse and sometimes I still find some pieces of henna in my hair even though I have washed it very thoroughly.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2011 19:23

    Hey Hilda
    first thing is how was ur india trip?
    secondly after the henna application, you should always shampoo your hair not simply rinse it off…
    thirdly if you had used henna right from the plant, the mixture is always coarse and you would find residue even after washing it but the one which you are using it is processed so the mixture would be quite smooth
    now, traditionally henna should be kept on hair for as long as possible for maximum coloration of the hair and this color wears off in 3-4 weeks at max….now there is a way to apply the henna mixture to the hair…
    mix the henna with water and keep it in an iron or copper bowl overnight…keeping it in iron or copper bowl ensures it gives more color to hair…use tea or coffee instead of just water for a brown tinge and indigo or beetroot for auburn tinge or you can even use curd…..in the morning, mix eggs with the mixture…one or two would be enough…..apply it on your hair starting from the center…take someone’s help or you might miss the scalp at some places…a better way to start is that part your hair prior to the application in as smaller patches as possible to get maximum covering and coloration…pin the partitions so that you work with only one at a time…apply and let it stay for as long as you can tolerate it but beware you can catch cold too coz henna cools the head….more time you keep deeper the coloration and more it would stay….after that wash it off thoroughly using cool water or lukewarm water….be extremely thorough…do not shampoo…oil your hair using preferably mustard or sesame oil, let it stay for a night and shampoo the next day…the reason for this is that henna keeps on adding color even after it has been washed off so if you let it stay for a night, it would get deeper in color….mustard or sesame oil are preferred coz they bring out the color in henna and keep the head warm so coloration is deeper….warmth accelerates coloration so wear a shower cap when you have applied henna…if you hav dry hair, put some oil in the henna mixture also coz it dries the hair…..donno y ur hair became oily…I have never tried the brand so cant say nythin bout it being gud or bad…basically try to keep your scalp as warm as possible when you have applied henna….you can run a hair drier too…wash the shampoo next day but make sure you use conditioner afterward or otherwise it can be difficult to style your hair or the best idea would be to leave your hair to air dry and simply use a brush or comb on your hair…..this is best done on a weekend….hope you get better results next time 🙂

    • February 6, 2011 17:50

      Thanks, great tips! Should try that out sometime. I figured that since the mixture contained some herbs that are cleansing for the hair, such as Shikakai, I wouldn’t need to, also the instructions said only to rinse with water. Well, I know better for next time. Which will be tonight 🙂

      India was a wonderful but absolutely chaotic experience. I’ve never seen anything like it before, everything is soo different from what I’m used to! Also we were only there for 6 days and our hosts had a tight schedule for us, so we did get to see lots of things but there wasn’t really much time to just stop and take everything in. I found myself so helpless when it was completely impossible to go anywhere without a car. When on vacation, I tend to enjoy just walking around and looking at things and then stop here and there when I feel like it. That wasn’t possible at all in Kolkata. I loved the environments but I think next time I’d like to go to a smaller city. We even talked with my parents to go to Kerala for an ayurvedic retreat. Where in India do you live?

      • February 6, 2011 21:59

        Well…actually Shikakai doesn’t cleanse the hair…it just conditions it…reetha is the ingredient which is used for cleansing the hair…hopefully you would have better results with the method I prescribed…would definitely love to know….
        Regarding India, Kolkatta is actually a very chaotic city…very dirty in some parts too and noisy…I know what you mean by being in a different place than what you are used to…yeah when you use tour guides they just rush you through everything in less than a week…same thing happened with me on my Europe tour 😦
        hiring a car is not easy in India as far as I know….using public transport os just crazy and you wouldn’t know what to do 🙂 going to a smaller places is good…Kerela is actually very beautiful and very calm place…also ven u come to India make sure you spend at least a week or 15 days in a place otherwis u cant see everythin and everythin would be in a hurry…..also you get no time for shopping….n also no point coming so far off spending so much money ven u don get to enjoy it properly…
        I stay in Hyderabad where charminar is located and pearls are famous 🙂

Leave a Reply

