Skip to content

Review: Annemarie Gianni Skin Care

January 23, 2011

A good while back, Lisa from the Annmarie Gianni skincare line was kind enough to send me a few samples of their products.  I’ve been unforgivably slow to react, but better late than never I suppose. Let me share my two cents about the products I received.

Annmarie Gianni is a natural, organic skin care line with beauty products, mainly with focus on the face. The sample pack that I have had the opportunity to try out contained a neroli toner, aloe vera herbal face cleanser, coconut oil, face scrub and honey coconut mask. Let’s take them one by one.

Personally, I love toners in spray bottles! The feeling of spraying a refreshing toner on face and maybe even body can’t be beat. Annmarie’s neroli toning mist is no exception. It really does feel fantastic. My tip is to leave them in the fridge for an even more refreshing feel. However, looking at the ingredients, the neroli toning mist is actually 100% pure neroli hydrolate. That means orange blossom water. I already have the same thing in my fridge, bought from my local indian grocer for 3€ a litre. I know that the quality is not always guaranteed and it’s not always certain that the orange blossom waters are distilled (giving the product longer shelf-life), but the product and effect of the neroli toning mist is the same only in a fancier package. So I don’t know, maybe some people feel it’s worth paying about 166,25 times more (this product goes for 19,95€ per 30 ml) to get a longer shelf life. I wouldn’t though.

The rest are really nice though. The aloe-herb cleanser is a creamy cleanser that goes really well with the auyrvedic face scrub for an exfoliation, or on it’s own as a cleanser. The blend of herbs includes lavender, calendula and rosemary, some of my favorite herbs for the skin.

The face scrub is basically a mixture of rhassoul clay and herbs (again lavender and rosemary but also for instance fenugreek and lemon balm). The scrubbing is quite mild but quite suitable, I sometimes find that face scrubs can be a bit rough even on my thick skin. Like I said, it goes well with the cleanser, but since it contains rhassoul clay, which is cleansing in itself, I would recommend using it with only tap water – or orange blossom water…..

When I had a look at the ingredient list of the coconut face & body oil, I have to admit I was a bit skeptical. The ingredient list contained not only coconut oil but also aloe vera oil, olive oil, rice bran oil, sunflower seed oil and grapeseed oil. There’s nothing I hate more than products that say they are for instance coconut oils when they actually contain very little coconut oil. So I put it to the test to see how much coconut oil it actually contained. Since coconut oil solidifies in the fridge, I put it in the fridge to see how quickly, if at all, it would solidify. Yes, it did, and quite quickly – I approve 🙂 (also it does smell quite a lot of coconut oil… a bit too much for my taste actually). The oil feels very nice on my skin and leaves it soft and is quickly absorbed. I know that many people have trouble with cosmetic acne from coconut oil so it seems you either love or you hate coconut oil. If you have had trouble with that I think you will probably get the same from this product. I however love coconut oil on my face.

Last, but not least is the honey coconut mask. Possibly my favorite product of these. The ingredients are very simple, only honey, coconut oil, beeswax and vanilla powder. This is a face mask that will moisturize and nourish your skin. And I love the smell! And the taste, it doesn’t mind if a little bit drips into your mouth 🙂 I also found that I don’t want to wash all of it off – it’s quite nice if a little bit is left to be absorbed by the skin. My face really glows after this mask.

I was not monetarily compensated for this review. The opinions I express in this article are purely my own.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

