Skip to content

Making Your Own Hair Styling Products

September 15, 2010

Before recently, I had never heard of anyone making DIY hair styling products, and I guess I figured it wasn’t possible to easily make your own. But then I started googling, and looking at organic hair styling products, and it seemed rather easy actually. So I started experimenting a little bit, and came up with these two recipes: a very simple flax seed/aloe vera gel, and a sesame seed oil hair wax.

Here you go:

Flax slime hair gel

Have you ever tried mucilage of flax seed? I have, and I liked it about as much as I liked the rotten shark I tried on Iceland. Flax seed doesn’t really taste as much, but the consistency is that of slime and almost impossible for me to get down. So instead of drinking it, I suggest putting it in your hair. Because of its consistency, it will work as a lightweight hair gel.

1/2 dl aloe vera gel or juice
1/2 dl rose water, herbal infusion or battery water
1 dl flax seeds
about 5 drops essential oil (I suggest some citrus or citrus smelling oil, sandalwood or rosemary. But anything you think smells nice is good)

Mix the ingredients and let stand overnight.
Remove the flax seeds and pour the gel into a jar. Done! Store in the fridge for up to one month

Hair wax

This hair wax will style your hair and add shine and nutrition to your hair. If you don’t like the smell of sesame seed oil, add a bit less of it and instead more of another oil, or add more essential oil to cover the smell up. If you don’t have carnauba wax, just add the same amount of beeswax.

Also I did this with my scales, so if you want some other way of measuring than grams, let me know and I can recalculate πŸ™‚

6 g beeswax
2 g carnauba wax
15 g sesame seed oil
10 g coconut oil
10 g castor oil
40 g jojoba oil (or grape seed or olive or sunflower seed)
15 drops essential oils: grapefruit, lemon, sandalwood, ylang-ylang or anything you happen to have and like

  • Melt the wax in a pot. When melted, turn the heat to a minimum and add the oils. If the wax hardens before everything is mixed, carefully turn the heat up
  • Pour the mixture into a glass jar. When it is about 40 C or less you can add the essential oils.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

