Skip to content

First perfume-experiment

April 24, 2010

A while back, I was talking about perfumes, and I am pleased to tell you that I have now finished my first experiment with making my own herbal perfumes.

To make your own perfume, you will need a “carrier”.  Alcohol is considered the best, since it doesn’t cover up the smell. Oils also work, the best one is jojoba, because it doesn’t have much smell.

Vodka works great, the higher the percentage the better. Rubbing alcohol isn’t very good, since it smells too much of alcohol.

I used 40% vodka (Koskenkorva), and added the herbs to the vodka, lettingthem steep for a few weeks (two weeks minimum). Make sure the herbs are covered with vodka, so that nothing is sticking out (unlike the one I have to the far right). There’s a risk that the herbs will go off.

I made three different perfumes, and very small batches. Partly because I wanted to use these cute perfume bottles that I have, and partly because I had no idea how it would turn out.

So, what kind of perfumes have I made?

The one to the left, the dark one, is more of a spice/flower mixture. I have a equal amounts of cinnamon, lavender leaves and black pepper, plus a little bit of jasmine flower. Jasmine flower is a really nice addition to basically any perfume, it adds depth without taking over completely. I bet that most of the perfumes that you use normally has at least a little jasmine smell in it.
The cinnamon is quite dominant in this one, giving oriental, but also Christmasy, associations. It’s a bit woody but yet sweet. Quite nice, but I think I’d like to try a bit less cinnamon and a bit more lavender next time.

The middle one is an old recipe called Carmelite water. The recipe vary a bit, but this one contains nut meg, lemon peel, coriander, cloves and bay leaves. This one is a bit more spicy, a bit more masculine – if you look at the traditional way of dividing perfumes. This is perhaps my own favorite amongst the three, because I don’t really like all too sweet perfumes.

The last one is a really simple one, with only jasmine and orange peel. It’s quite citrusy, you can really smell the orange. Light and summery and quite nice.

These perfumes aren’t as strong as normal perfumes, and you will perhaps want to put a bit more on than usual, or add a bit more during the day. But they definitely don’t smell of alcohol, as some other perfumes in my opinion do.
It was really fun making perfumes, and I will definitely do some more experimenting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Annika permalink
    May 1, 2010 11:50

    Oh! I’ve been searching for a tea-perfume, I found one I really like (with bergamot oil, used in earl grey tea) but I’d like another one as well. This could work out with tea also! I have to try..

    • May 2, 2010 00:10

      Yeah, I have been thinking of just soaking some herbal tea in vodka as well, premade mixtures should work pretty well I guess since somebody else already has figured out the composition 🙂
      Lasses parents once made a herbal perfume for his grandmother, just boiled some flowers in water. But she thought it was tea and drank it up 🙂
      I don’t know how green or black tea would smell as a perfume, but I guess it’s worth a try. I have some green jasmine tea, that could be an idea…

Leave a Reply

