Skip to content

Fasting, day one

March 2, 2010

I am the kind of person who needs to eat on a regular basis. If I don’t get food every five hours, I get tired and grumpy. But a couple of years back, I had been on a trip to Dublin, and after a few days of greasy fries and Guinness, I started feeling like it would be time for a bit of detoxing. I had a fasting of about a week and, even though I was a bit hungry for the first days, I did feel great afterward!

So now I am doing it again, and I even got my boyfriend in to it. We are planning on doing about seven days, plus three days before and after of settling in.

It is important to allow the body to get used to eating less, and it will go into starvation mode, which is why one can keep going with almost no food. Today we have tried to stick to mostly raw foods, and especially avoid animal products and foods with additives. Then, on Thursday or so, we will go in for a full juice fasting.

For dinner, I made a salad with grated beetroot, carrot, which I marinated in a little bit of olive oil, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, oregano and honey. Then I added some lettuce and sauerkraut and chopped almonds, and sprinkled some linseed on top. Quite yummy!

After reading up a bit more on fasting, I am surprised by how much you actually can eat. Last time I mostly avoided all kinds of spices, but now I’ve found many sites that say that spices like garlic, ginger and cayenne pepper are actually beneficial. So basically I am planning on making puré soups of different kinds and varying them with different veggies and spices. And if the sweet tooth kicks in, I’ll just make some berry/fruit juices. Piece of cake! Or well, more like sip of juice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

